Tech

Facebook Messenger: how to delete your account?

Yes, you can freely delete your Messenger account in addition to your Facebook account. But for that, you have to know the steps to follow! We will help you there.

Facebook Messenger is a must on a smartphone, particularly in France where the Méta group service is one of the most widely used instant chat applications. It is battling for the top spot with WhatsApp, which is owned by the same company. What to be a little afraid of for your data, which all pass at least once on the side of father Mark Zuckerberg? We understand you. And that’s why, if you decide to stop all this to try to regain some control over your privacy and your data, we will help you deactivate your messenger account.

How to delete Messenger

If you want to continue using Facebook, but no longer have the associated Messenger messaging, there is no great silver bullet. However, you can still delete the Messenger app from your iOS or Android smartphone. Do the procedure as you would for any other application.

Indeed, it is important to note that Facebook doesn’t need Messenger installed to work. Also, if you don’t want to use the service, you can freely uninstall the app. Still, you will continue to receive message notifications on the main app and on the website, and there is no great solution to prevent this without missing some of your regular notifications. The two platforms are intertwined after all.

How do I deactivate Facebook?

Want to get rid of Messenger and don’t care about losing Facebook along the way? So you need to deactivate your entire account first on Meta’s social network. Go to the site, log in to your account, and click on the small arrow pointing down at the very top right of the interface. From the drop-down menu, choose “Settings and privacy”, then click on “Settings”.

On the new page that opened, you will find a large menu on the left side of your screen. Click on “Your Facebook information”. On the main page, you will then have new options. Choose “Disable and delete”.

facebook messenger deactivate

Two options are available to you. “Delete Account” will, as the name suggests, erase everything. Also, your profile, on the social network, as on Messenger will completely cease to exist, and your data on the latter will be erased. The operation takes 30 days and is irreversiblebut might fit your needs.

“Disable Account” will completely stop the service for you until you choose to reactivate your account. In the meantime, your profile will disappear and you will no longer receive any notifications from Facebook. Messenger will continue to work, however. and will need to be disabled separately.

Regardless of the option chosen, you will be asked to enter your password one last time to confirm.

How to deactivate Messenger?

If you have chosen to deactivate your Facebook account, you will need to complete a second step to then deactivate Messenger. In the mobile app, click on your portrait in the top left. At the very bottom of the queue, you will find the choice “Legal notices and policies”. Click on it.

If you have deactivated your Facebook account previously, then the last option on this screen will be “Disable Messenger”. Again, you will need to type your password one last time to confirm your choice.

To find Messenger later, simply log back into your account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.