Computer

Protect yourself, don’t let others delete your files by mistake

It is true that on many occasions we can use independent user accounts so that each one has their settings, applications and data. However, those who do not have enough knowledge to do so or who are simply looking for the easy way, share all the content of the PC with the rest. Although it may not seem like it, this is quite common in many computers, which sometimes generates certain conflicts.

As an example, a certain user has a multitude of files and folders of his own stored. Therefore, it may be the case that, by mistake or ignorance, other users delete these contents without realizing it. It goes without saying that this can become a serious inconvenience, especially if we talk about work files, personal photos, text documents that we have created for various reasons, etc. However, we have several solutions with which to avoid this delete error we are talking about.

Assign permissions to content

To begin with, we will tell you that we always have the possibility to assign certain user permissions to those files that we want to protect. In this way we will have the possibility to specify the users who can carry out certain actions on those files such as reading, copying, deleting or modifying.

For this we only have to click on that specific content with the right mouse button and select Properties. In the new window that appears we go to the Security tab, and just by clicking on the Edit button we can now modify the permissions of that file.

Hide the chosen file

Another of the possible movements that we can carry out here to protect our information is to hide that specific content. To achieve this that we also tell you, we click with the right button of the mouse on the file in question. Then in the contextual menu that appears we select the Properties option.

However, in this case, in the window that appears on the screen, we are going to opt for the tab called General. In it, located at the bottom, we will find a selector that by default is deactivated and that reads Hide. It is easy to imagine that to carry out what we are looking for now we only have to click and activate that functionality.

Hide file

It must be taken into account that once this feature is activated, the file will be hidden from the rest of the users, but in view of our account. If we want to undo the process, we just have to uncheck this selector again.

Back up what’s important

However, as they say, prevention is better than cure. And it is that as we have told you on many occasions, it is increasingly important to have a backup copy of our Windows PC. This is something that extends to the case we are talking about in these lines. It is important to know that these backup copies can be made larger or smaller, depending on the content we select.

Thus, to avoid greater evils in the event that another user makes the mistake of deleting our files, if we have a backup of them, the displeasure will be less. It must be said that for this type of task we can use the same Microsoft operating system or one of the many third party apps available.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *