Note: Currently this feature is only available in software versions that are still in beta, but will be officially released in the next few weeks.
What you should know about this functionality
Before starting to activate this functionality on your devices, you should know exactly what this capture consists of and also the requirements to take into account to be able to activate it correctly on your devices.
Situations in which it is advantageous to share your screen
There are many situations in which it is necessary to share the screen of your device while you are making a video call, in order to improve productivity above all. View an image at the same time and comment on it, or even receive help from another person to solve a problem you are having with the device. There are many possibilities that open up when you have the possibility of sharing the screen of an iPhone, iPad or Mac.
This is a fairly typical feature of video calling services, among which, for example, Skype stands out. The operation that has been applied in FaceTime is also well known to all. Basically the device will capture the screen in real time and relay it to whoever you are talking to. All the actions that you carry out will be shared so you must be very careful with the applications you access. In short, it is as if the screen was being recorded but in real time. Obviously at the same time you can be talking through voice with the person who is viewing your screen and you can even see it in a floating window if you have the camera activated.
In the event that privacy is really important to you, as we have mentioned, no type of screen recording is made in this mode. Only the entire screen is captured and the information is sent to the other device. This makes the content of the broadcast not be stored anywhere guaranteeing the privacy of users at all times. The only problem that you may have will be related to the internet connection, which must be secure in order to prevent this information from being filtered.
In order to apply this functionality, it is important to bear in mind that a series of requirements must be met. Being a function that is integrated into a native application, the main requirement is software. That is why Apple requires that the corresponding version or higher that integrates this functionality be installed. Specifically, it is requested that it be installedor iOS 15 in the case of iPhone, iPadOS 15 in the case of iPad and macOS Monterey if you have a Mac. Obviously versions that are higher are also accepted, since this is only the first in which it was included.
With regard to hardware, as we have said before, absolutely nothing has to be taken into account. It is only requested that the equipment be compatible with this software version, so all the latest devices that have been released are compatible and you will not have any problem when making this feature work.
Share your screen across different devices
Once this information is taken into account and the requirements regarding the hardware are met, you can now activate it. Next, we explain the steps to take into account.
iPhone and iPad
In the case that you have an iPhone or iPad, the process to follow is quite similar. You must bear in mind that the call must always be made to another person who meets the requirements. That is, it is not enough that you have the corresponding operating system version yourself, but that both the sender and the receiver must comply with it so that the screen sharing request can be sent. In order to start it, you simply have to make a FaceTime video call as normal. In the call, a box will appear with different actions to be able to hang up or deactivate the microphone. This is a classic in FaceTime, but now it appears an icon of a stick figure with a square behind it.
Clicking on this option will launch a request to the receiver to accept if he wants to view your screen. Once the broadcast is activated, it will start and you will be able to navigate normally on your mobile. In the event that you want to stop sharing at the moment when broadcasting, an indication that you are broadcasting will appear at the top. By clicking on this, the option to stop the transmission will appear.
In the case of the Mac, the process is quite similar to what we have previously commented. Keep in mind that The video call does not have to be made between an iPhone and another iPhone. With the Mac itself, you can call someone who has an iPhone or an iPad and share your screen normally. As in the previous case, you must make the call as usual, and then perform the activation.
In the options box that appears in the lower left next to the option to end the call, you will see the icon of a box with a person in front of it. Clicking on this will launch the option to share the screen so that it is accepted. In this case, you will have a constant call sign in the toolbar at the top where you will see this same icon with a purple background. By clicking on this you will be able to stop the broadcast.
Also when activating this option on a Mac you can choose what you want to broadcast in a specific way. An option will appear to choose a specific window or screen. This ensures your privacy since only this will be captured and not the entire computer screen. To this is also added that all notifications are deactivated when the screen is shared through this system, guaranteeing that no one can view your messages or incoming emails.