Computer

Do you think Chrome’s incognito mode protects you? Everything you’re leaking

For some time now, due to different privacy scandals, led mainly by the Meta group through Facebook, the number of users who have started to take privacy seriously has been rising considerably.

Many are the users who have begun to use the incognito mode of Chrome or the name with which this function is called in the browser that they use regularly. The name by which this functionality is called in each browser is really not the best of all, since it is far from what it really is.

Does Chrome’s incognito mode protect?

The mode, erroneously named, incognito, is responsible for do not save to browsing history the web pages we visit. In this way, we can navigate using any computer, or even mobile devices, without leaving any trace and without the need to delete the websites we have visited from the browser history. In addition, data related to cookies and the information that we enter in forms or access websites are not stored either.

Incognito mode does not allow us to browse the internet anonymously as it may imply. When we browse the internet using incognito mode, we leave a trace through the IP address we use. In addition, our internet provider stores a record of all our activity on the internet, a record that is generally deleted after a certain period of time in case the State Security Forces and Bodies need to consult it.

If we really want to browse in a totally secure and private way, without leaving any trace in our operator or bypassing the limitations of the internet connection we use (countries with censorship or internet connections from companies or educational centers), we need to use a VPN.

Do you really want to browse anonymously? Use a VPN

A VPN is a virtual private network, a network that is established between our PC and the company that offers this service and is the best way to browse the internet. completely anonymously, without leaving any kind of trace, neither in the web pages that we visit nor in the internet provider that we use.

A VPN uses our internet provider as a gateway between our PC and the servers without it knowing what we are doing with our connection. When we connect to a VPN this assign us a random IP from another country different from the one we are in, IP that we will use to browse the internet and will become the trace that is always left when we browse the internet.

When we end the connection, the platform we have used clears the cache that has been stored from our browsing history. thus removing all information related to our activity. In this way, the service provider cannot know what we have used their platform for. Although it is true that we can find a large number of free VPNs, those that assure us that they do not trade with our browsing history and that, in addition, actually delete our data, are always paid.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *