Computer

Save space on Google Drive by deleting hidden useless files

With the passage of time, a good part of today’s technology companies are offering their own platforms of this type. Actually, we mean that they give their clients an opportunity to take advantage of a space in their servers where to store your own content. As a general rule, we find both free and paid modalities, all depending on the space and the functions that we need.

Likewise, the corporate needs of a company are very different than those that an end user may have in this regard. Some of the giants like Microsoft or Google They already offer their own cloud storage services, in principle free of charge, for those who have the firm in mind. In this case, we are going to focus on Drive, the alternative of this type presented by the search giant.

Just by creating a free account on Google, we will already have our own space on their servers. This allows us to synchronize files from our local PC and at the same time save space on the PC’s disk drives.

To give you an idea of ​​what we are telling you, initially a conventional Google account offers us a space of up to 15 gigabytes for free. We will always have the possibility of increasing it, but now through a monthly or annual payment. Therefore, we could say that Drive is a service of cloud storage limited free if we don’t want to spend a single euro.

Manage the online space

Something that we must take into account is that to this space that we are talking about for the storage of our own content, all our Gmail mail is added. This means that the messages and their corresponding contents accumulated over the years are part of those 15 gigs that we are talking about. Therefore, those who have been using the google mail, or that they use it constantly, they will see that space quite diminished.

In turn, all the documents that we generate and manage in the office suite of the same company, Docs, are also stored here. All this is subtracting, how could it be otherwise, our available space in Drive. That is why many companies opt for the payment method in order to increase the availability of remote disk.

Another important step in this regard is to choose well the data on our computer that we want to synchronize in the cloud. That way we won’t upload useless information to remote space. In this way, if what we want is to save space in Drive for other files such as videos, photos or documents, we should clean up these other two services.

But at the same time it may be the case that we see that our account here fills up faster than we expected at first. If we cannot find any explanation for this, much of the fault may be due to the lost files.

What are hidden or lost files in Drive

It has become clear because one of the most important points in this type of platform, as is logical to think, is the available storage space. Therefore, everything that is to eliminate unnecessary information in these remote servers, it will be of great help to us. Along these same lines, we want to focus on a type of file that is going to uselessly subtract space and that we can get rid of.

The first thing we should know is that the hidden files in Drive are those that were originally included in an existing folder. We refer to a file that at the time we added to our own folder or in the account of another user. However, this folder has already been deleted, which can translate into being lost files on our account.

The problem with all this is that these files that we are talking about do not appear to the naked eye in the conventional way in which we see the rest of the information. Therefore, they can be accumulated little by little without us noticing by subtracting storage. This means that they do not appear in the usual Google Drive list, but they continue to occupy space in the account.

To all this, we must add that the giant of searches it does not offer us a direct method to get rid of these. However, we can always use a trick to remove these elements.

Delete hidden unnecessary files

As you can imagine, then we are going to talk about how to get rid of these files and thus save disk remotely. To do this, the first thing we do is access our personal space that Google offers us. This is something that as most of you already know, we carry out from anywhere Internet navigator.

enter drive

At that moment, all the contents that we have stored here will appear on the screen, that is, on the company’s servers. Here we see both the folders and the files that over the years we have been saving. However, as we mentioned before, these orphans or lost we will not see them in the first instance.

In order to see these files on the screen, what we must do is locate the search box that is located at the top of the screen. main interface. Then, in it we write the following:

is:unorganized owner:me

After pressing the Enter key, at that moment we will see a series of files that are the ones that have been orphaned or lost and that we do not need. Therefore, we can mark one of them and click with the right mouse button. In the contextual menu that appears, we no longer have to go to the option of Remove. This is something that we can repeat with all these elements that only take up space in a useless way.

see orphans

Of course, we must bear in mind that we have not yet completely gotten rid of these files. In order to fully recover the storage space occupied by these, we must also remove them from the trash. In the right pane of the Drive interface we find the entry called Paper bin. Next, we click with the right mouse button on the elements that we see and select the option Permanently delete.

Permanently delete

In this way we will be able to save valuable space to store other contents in Drive that are really useful to us.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *