Tech

How do you know if someone has blocked you on Facebook?

We’ve all had a bit of a heated conversation on Facebook where the tension escalated and our interlocutor decided to cut ties without telling us. So, let’s see the best ways to check if someone has blocked us.

The first signs

A blockage by an interlocutor on the social network is recognized by the following signs: first of all, you will no longer have the possibility of starting or continuing a discussion with him. In addition, you no longer have access to his profile.
If you search for the person’s name in your search bar, it yields no results. It is to believe that he was never part of the Facebook community.

Not to be confused

Users of the social network, especially those who have not yet got used to it, can make certain mistakes. First, blocking and unfriending are two completely different actions. However, the motivations can coincide.

In addition, being blocked generates more or less the same signs as when your correspondent has deactivated his account. Finally, it happens that you have inadvertently blocked your interlocutor and not the opposite. In the latter case, the only difference with getting blocked is that the unblock button is on your side.

Look in your conversations

For someone to block you, they may have already conversed with you. In this case, you will surely still find your discussion somewhere. Remember that you have a copy of the conversation that only you can delete.

Alert message instead of reply

Scroll through the list of private messages until you find the chat you shared with your friend. When you click on it, it opens, like all the others. However, the text box usually located at the bottom is no longer there. Instead, you’ll see the alert “You can no longer reply to this discussion” followed by a small “Learn more” link.

Remark

If you find the discussion in question, check the image that appears on its icon. If you see a recent or old photo, that means the person has blocked you.

If it shows Facebook’s default avatar, then you can consider the fact that the user just deactivated their account and it’s not directed at you. If this is the case, the alert message at the end of the discussion will then be “This person is not available on Facebook”.

Nowadays, Facebook allows you to only block messages from interlocutors without completely blocking them on Facebook. In this case, you will continue to see the person’s posts and stories, but they will no longer receive your private messages.

Go to their profile

If these proofs have not yet convinced you, try to pass on his profile. Normally, you won’t have access to it if the person has blocked you on Facebook.

The different ways to access your profile

First, you can use the discussion we talked about above. Tap on their photo and select the profile option. If the blockage is proven, a beautiful error page will appear.

Second, you have the option of going through the search engine. Click the magnifying glass icon and type in their nickname. In the event of a block, you will not see his account in the list of results.

Third, you can try to find her on your News Feed. Find a post in which you have been tagged by/with the person. These links cannot be deleted, as other users also have access to them. If she has effectively blocked you, by clicking on her name, an error page or pop-up appears.

Attention

If the person concerned has only blocked your chats, your profile search will not be a problem. You will be able to consult his profile either by one or the other of these three methods. However, he still won’t be able to receive your messages.

Verify from another account

As a last resort, if you feel that the blockage is surely due to a handling error by your interlocutor, you can try to reconnect from a friend’s account or create a temporary account.

The two possible types of aid

If you have asked for help from someone who is not friends with the person you want to contact, have them search for the nickname in question. If the latter does not find a result, either the person concerned has changed his name, or he has deactivated his account.

If you’ve requested assistance from a mutual friend, send them to view their private messages and view their profile. If both tactics go off without a hitch, then there is no longer any doubt. The individual has explicitly blocked you. Otherwise, he just had to deactivate his account.

The temporary account

Although rarely used, this method is effective. To apply, create a new Facebook account. You can fill in the required information with dummy data.

Anyway, it will only serve you to find the individual who blocked you. If your quest is successful and you find his profile, you have been blocked by him.
Once you no longer need this account, feel free to delete it.

The different forms of blocking on Facebook

General blocking

This is the most radical case. In the event of a general blocking, you will no longer have any access to his account. You won’t be able to chat, see their profile, cross their posts, or even find the person with the search engine. In short, you will not find any trace of the existence of your interlocutor, apart from the private messages exchanged.

Remove from the list of friends

It is not a blockage strictly speaking but it can have the same symbolic significance. The person no longer wants to be part of your circle of friends, but they don’t see you as a danger. You’ll still be able to see their profile, public posts, and even send messages, but you won’t see their private posts in your News Feed or Stories.

Block messages

The person only blocked your messages. In this case, you still have access to private posts and the profile but you can no longer have a conversation with the person.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.