On Instagram, you can block certain people, but you can also only hide them. We explain how to do it.
It’s been a few years since this feature has been available on Instagram, but the operation can still seem difficult to achieve. If you want to block another user, or block someone, here is the process to follow, step by step.
Should we hide or block?
To hide does not mean to block. When you opt for blocking, the data subject sees that you have cut off their access to your account. On the other hand, an Internet user cannot know if he has been hidden by someone. He can continue to see your account, your stories, to comment… but you will not receive anything. In addition, your subscribers will not see his comments under your photos. Only the masked person will be able to read them. Regarding private messages, he will be able to send some, but they will not arrive in your main inbox. They will automatically be hidden in the message request box. If you read them, the sender won’t be able to find out.
This feature is ideal if you are being harassed by one or more people and you think blocking them could make the situation worse. It’s also great if you have an uncle or aunt who posts a little too many comments and floods your notifications …
To hide someone, it happens on Instagram’s mobile application. There are two ways to do this. The first is to start from a comment – handy, if you have a lot of people to hide.
Hide from a comment
Place your finger on the comment and “drag” it to the left. Several icons then appear. Select the middle one (a sort of bubble with an exclamation mark on it). Click on “restrict”.
Hide from profile
It is also possible to start from a profile to hide a person. On his profile, click on the three small dots at the top right of the screen, next to the nickname. A menu is then displayed. Select “restrict”. If necessary, you can also report the person or block him by this means.
PS: Don’t do it with that sweet corgi. Maxine aka Mad Max Fluffy Road doesn’t deserve this. On the other hand, she deserves that you listen to our podcast in which she does ASMR.
If you don’t want to see the stories of someone, but you don’t want to stop or follow them – if you like their photos but not their stories for example -, here is how to do it.
From your home page, find the corresponding profile in the tab stories (the photos in a circle at the top). Keep your finger pressed on the photo in question. A menu appears at the bottom. Select “mute”.
You can cancel this action at any time if you regret, from the profile of the person concerned.
Article originally published on October 18, 2019 and updated on July 23, 2021